**Warning - there are a lot of TMI details and length explanations that you may not feel like reading. This is your opportunity to close this window and bypass reading about my drama-filled day.** (If you do decide to read on, your pity on me is greatly appreciated!)
This morning I should of known was going to be helter-skelter. Waking up I wasn't sure if I was going to be able to make it the my gym for my normal workout. My boys decided to sleep in and I hate rushing. But, after what followed I "needed" to get out of the house and a break for my own sanity.
I went to go greet Clayton after he had woke up. He surprised me by taking bits and pieces of his "overnight - just in case" diaper and wiping it all over his walls, bed frame, sheets, blankets and pillows. It was not only disgusting but it was very difficult to clean up because those pieces are like "jello" when wet. So, I cleaned up what I could and then moved on to go get my baby. After nursing my youngest son I changed his diaper and started to pile up my "laundry" pile from Clayton's nasty mess. As I was finishing with that, I caughter a wiff of something not so fresh. Seeing my young baby's face I knew it was him. So, I then proceeded to clean up his mess. It was fine for the first few seconds and then he started "grabbing" at his poopie diaper. This is a new development for Calvin (his name). Thankfully, I was able to push his hand away and save his little fingers from "ew-gross'ness"!
Taking them downstairs for breakfast I thought would be easy. But I was proved wrong as my son decided to open up a biscuit from the night before and crumb it all over the kitchen floor. When this was cleaned up I got another wiff of something not so fresh again!! Yup, it was my baby again. And no, he wasn't sick it was another full and normal diaper. So, once the diaper was changed for the third time this morning I knew it was now or never. I was to go to the gym and have a little "down time". My plan after the workout was to take the boys to a outdoor play ground and eat a subway sandwhich lunch with my husband. I had made a Dr. appointment at the base hospital per a advisement from our insurance company that they would cover my chiropractic treatments if my primary care provider (PC) would give me a referral. The only appointment I could get within the month of February was this afternoon at 1:00. Which is both my boys' naptime. So, I knew it was going to be a little tricky but I had no idea how truly drama-filled it was going to be.
I picked up the subway sandwhiches after waiting in line what felt like forever. Note to self, subway during the week is a marathon wait. I guess everyone & their dog are trying to be "jared". As I got into the truck I noticed something again, "not so fresh". Unfortunately, I recognized this as my 2 yr old son's "yuckyness" so, I turned around and told him not to push. I asked him to wait until we could get to the potty. So, I turned into the only place within seconds of where we were to go. They, did not have a public restroom. So, this meant "porta-potty" and let me tell you. My son Clayton took one look into this potty and said, "no, Home Mommy, I wanna go home". Yeah, my son, I want to go home too. So, he pooped in his pants and yes, it was everywhere. I had to take his underwear off, his pants, and it was nasty. I had to hold my 9 month old 20-some pound baby while trying to put my 2 yr old son back on a porta-potty toilet seat while trying to toilet paper it so it wasn't so gross. I was sweating my butt off and my heart rate was probably through the roof. It was awful, awful, awful! Sean showed up in time enough to help me by holding the baby while I cleaned up my son. If you know me at all you know I hate "poop". I hate everything about it. I know we "need" it to be healthy, but its very hard for me to change diapers let alone wipe it off my son whom unfortunately this day did not have a dry bowel movement. I am surprised I didn't start dry heaving because I truly felt like I was going to pass out. I felt bad for my son because he was embarassed and felt really bad about doing what he did. So I was doing my best to keep consoling and supportive all the while I was freaking out in my head.
As we finally calmed down and went to the playground to eat. I felt like I was carrying about 2 tons of stress weight on my shoulders. I had about 10 minutes to eat and then off I was to my Dr appointment. I thought in my mind how frustrated I was at myself. If I didn't have this appointment my son would of been at home and he would of been able to go on his "home potty". My baby wouldn't of been tired and cranky because he would of been able to sleep restfully and peacefully in his crib. I just kept telling myeslf it was worth it if it was going to save thousands of dollars. I repeated this over and over in my mind as the burden of the stress weighed heavy on my heart.
After an hour and a half of being questioned about everything in my medical history (which is very minor) and updating that Dr. on what my x-rays looked like and what the chiropractor had diagnosed me with. I was told to visit the hospital tri-care office (military insurance) to ask them how the Dr. should write up the referral in the system. I then rushed down to the office to be told that tri-care does not cover chiropractic care for military dependants. Only in some circumstances do they cover for active-duty military.
As I walked out of the hospital my face probably was bright red and I think I had smoke coming out of my ears. I was so fired up I could of exploded. All that I had went through. All that my children had went through. All that my husband had sacrificed to meet me and help me with the kids to take away from his busy work day to support me was for nothing! I was infuriated because the only reason I went was because they had told me they would cover it if I got a referral from my PC. I didn't make this stuff up. I was going by the book. Someone dropped the ball and unfortunately for me it landed on my foot! I was upset and to my husband's detriment I took some of this anger out on him. I am sincerely apologetic to him and to my children who were affected by this entire day's dramatic unfoldings.
I really feel so discouraged the more I realize how terrible my tri-care insurance is. It is considered on the same plateau as "medicaid" (older retired people federally regulated insurance) and for those on welfare. Isn't it a little odd that my husband who is working on a daily basis to contribue to protecting our country's freedom we so vitally need is treated as if he doesn't have a job or is too old/injured to have one? Not only is this completely unfair but its truly in my opinion offensive. I started to think of those who are active-duty who are injured in battle how they are treated?? There are so many details of this insurance I could explain to you that you probably don't need or want to know. But, I know that our servicemen deserve more and better.
This isn't a political statement or me trying to lobby any of your political interests but rather just a testimony of someone living with federally regulated insurance. It's not good and it's not ideal. Its pretty sad when I'm tempted to get a job and put my kids in daycare just so they have proper medical treatments (if need) as well as myself. Makes my husband feel bad too because this is the "insurance" that he is providing for our family and proud to be able to do so but sincerely let down knowing how "sub-standard" it truly is.
Just to give you a small window of information into this world let me explain to you what they were asking me to do when I became pregnant with Calvin....... (This should make your jaw drop if you are pregnant, will be pregnant or just interested in what I'm talking about..)
When I found out I was pregnant for my insurance company (tri-care) to cover the cost of pre-natal care require a blood test to confirm the pregnancy. No problem. Went in and the test results came back within a few hours confirming the pregnancy. At this point I was just a little over 7 weeks along. I then was informed that I needed to schedule an appointment with the women's clinic to come in for my "orientation" between 12-14 weeks of my pregnancy. They continued to tell me that no small children are allowed to be present during this meeting. The meeting was available to be scheduled two different times a week between 2-4. Once I understood what was expected of me at the meeting and what times/dates it was available to be scheduled they told me that they would put me in a room with 6-8 other women while we all filled out paperwork and were asked questions, take urine samples etc. I was like what??? Like a cattle call?? This would also not be my first true Dr appointment. That would be scheduled after the orientation. With my first son I was in Omaha, Nebraska. The military base hospital does not have an OB or Prenatal division so all that is taken care of "off-base". So I had a civilian Dr and pregnancy experience from beginning to end. So this was all new to me. Once the nurse explained to me the orientation process, first real Dr. appointment, went on to tell me that one of six to eight Dr.'s that would be on-call the night I was to deliver my baby. Not to mention, that during my pre-natal visits they could not guarantee me to see the same Dr. for most or all my visits. If you have either only military baby experiences, or civilian experinces will depend on your response to this news.
My personal response is "I don't think so." so I opted out of what they consider tri-care prime which means they pay for everything as long as its on base. This is great for those who can not afford off-base care. When it all came down to it, I paid $100 to have my baby off base. I paid for one extra ultrasound co-pay - $50 and $50 for my hospital stay after my baby was born. If I get pregnant again while we are stationed here I will do the exact same thing and be excited to! I would stay tri-care standard the whole time but if I were to get an extreme medical case it wouldn't be so affordable.
So anyway, this is my two cents on my life in the world of 2 boys, a husband and military insurance.
Sorry for the TMI.
Hope the rest of you are enjoying a great week with as little "poop in the unnawears" and good insurance benefits as possible!
God Bless!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment